Pro vs Relief

Golf ball in hole. You cannot get rid of this lie.

Getty Images

You’ve likely been in one. Although it is likely that there will be no fault on your part. After all, unless you played the course earlier, the ball you got after it sat in place was taken out by someone else.

You might say that’s unfair, and Ryder Cooper won’t argue 11 times with you. But pleading loosen up the rules, this will make it so Lee Westwood Even log in to Twitter.

“no,” Former World Books No. 1. “If you want to play a fair game, don’t choose golf. The variables make it fun.”

Right now, of course, the rules don’t allow for a ball to be dropped if you end up throwing the ball; You should play it as is. But that didn’t stop the debate, and the monthly golf has recently been on fire With this question on Twitter: “Are these the most controversial rules in golf?”

Westwood jumped. And others did, too. The Englishman defended his position.

Michael Delling writes: “If it’s a match that isn’t full, I feel you should feel comfortable, you’re no longer playing the same course if someone takes a bit of it and doesn’t fill it in.”

Westwood’s reply: “How deep is the cleavage to get relief?”

SI92 wrote: “Interesting. There are variants and bad breaks etc. And then there is a car crash in the middle of the lane and it ends up in a crevice.”

Westwood’s reply: “But when you top a player and they run through a bunker and onto the green, do you say ‘That was a lucky break, I’m going to play that again because that shot didn’t deserve that score’?”


Ole Casey looks at the ball

‘I’ve never seen that before’: A player’s opponent gets an impossibly bad break in a big moment

by:

Milton’s exhale



Introduce another user on Twitter An incident in this year’s Players Championship, where Paul Casey’s ball came to rest in another player’s floor sign. Notably, had the ball been connected to its own mark, Casey would have been allowed to rest.

Carl Lewis wrote: “It’s surprising and interesting to hear from the Westy pros, understanding and loving the harsh variables like ripples and the weather it brings, but surely the split in the middle of the lane unnecessarily punishes? Remember Paul Casey a few months ago cost him the championship.”

Westwood’s reply: “Hard ones get bad breaks and get good breaks. You know a princess isn’t always saved by a handsome prince. Sometimes a witch kills her!”

Lewis wrote: “Ouch does Casey know you call him Princess, I can really see both sides of the argument, and it’s great to hear from the actual golfers, not just us hopefuls of having a great season at Ledge.”

Westwood’s reply: “I call it worse!”

In response to another question, Westwood said He was going to change the “water base in bunkers,” though he didn’t go into detail from there. Meanwhile, another Twitter user didn’t ask a question so much as expressing his frustration.

Terry Burns wrote: “Annoy me, your only saying so is because your half is fit. I’m taking the life out of them.”

Westwood’s reply: “At least you have an excuse.”

golf magazine

Subscribe to the magazine

Participate

Nick Piastovsky

Nick Piastovsky

Golf.com Editor

Nick Piastovsky is a senior editor at Golf.com and Golf Magazine. In his role, he is responsible for editing, writing and developing stories across the golf space. And when he’s not writing about ways to hit the golf ball farther and straighter, the Milwaukee native will probably play the game, hitting the ball left, right and short, drinking a cold beer to wash down his score. You can reach him about any of these topics – his stories, his game, or his beer – at nick.piastowski@golf.com.