9 Books To Read If You Like Calling Your Midwife

Like many charming British drama fans Call the midwife You know, the show was inspired by the real-life stories of Jennifer Worth, who worked as a midwife in the underprivileged East End of London in the 1950s. As the show makes its way to the end of the show season eleven (Don’t worry, there More joy packs are on the way!), now is the perfect time to start stocking your feed on your shelves to keep you going between seasons. Here, we have compiled not only the three notes that started it all, but also the other met himThemed books will fill your days with the adventures of Nonnatus House.

Announcement – Continue reading below

Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times (The Midwife Trilogy Book 1)

The book that started it all, Jennifer Worth’s first memoir covers the beginning of her time as a midwife, when 22-year-old Jenny Lee moved to a convent in London’s East End to help a disadvantaged mother in the area with her working hours. need to.

Summoning the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse (The Midwife Trilogy Book 2)

Much of London was still recovering from World War II when Jenny Lee started midwifery there in the 1950s, but Victorian-era problems still haunt the East End. In her second memoir, Worth looked at the traumatic, long-term effects the role of work had on those who survived.

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End (The Midwife Trilogy Book 3)

Worth’s latest trilogy covers an area that’s sure to be a favorite of mine Call the midwife Viewers including the romance and marriage of the fan favorite Chummy.

Call the Midwife: A Labor of Love: Ten Years of Life, Love and Laughter

Stephen McGahn not only played Doctor Turner on the beloved BBC show, but also composed this celebration of the show’s 10 years on the air, featuring behind-the-scenes stories and reflections on the show from the cast and crew.

Jennifer Worth’s memoirs were an inspiration to fans even before the show. This collection collects letters from many people influenced by the books as well as some of Worth’s writings and memories.

fictional magazine part of Call the midwifeDr. Turner, A partial examination of the real-life experiences of a district doctor at that time, this book by actor who plays Dr. Turner Stephen McGann (and provided by his wife and presenter Heidi Thomas) is just the thing for met him A fan who is constantly on the lookout for diseases that appear on the show.

The Midwife’s Sister: The Story of Midwife Jennifer Worth’s Calling from Her Sister Kristen

Over the course of her memoirs, Jennifer Worth has covered much of her life as a midwife in London, but this book by her sister Christine tells untold stories of her life before and after her time in the East End.

The Wisdom of the Midwife Call: Words of Love, Loss, Friendship, Family and More from Sisters and Midwives in the House of Nonnatus

Have you ever found yourself wishing that Sister Monica Joan or Sister Julian could pounce on you and provide you with inspiration? This book full of quotes from the beloved show is the next best thing; Keep it on hand for those times when you need to pick out a Nonnatus pattern.

The history of flesh and blood diseases of my family

Playing the doctor in Call the Midwife is not just a day job for McGann, it’s also part of a passion for the history of medicine and its social ramifications. In this book, he explores his family’s history through the lens of medical illnesses, like many Call the midwife Examines the development of health services through a Poplar lens.

This content is created and maintained by a third party, and is imported into this page to help users provide their email address. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at piano.io

Announcement – Continue reading below